Langford History Soc Crest
Langford History Society
 

MEETINGS ARE HELD IN THE CHURCH HALL, CHURCH STREET, LANGFORD, FROM 8 PM  ON THE FIRST WEDNESDAY OF THE MONTH EXCEPT FOR JANUARY AND AUGUST WHEN THERE ARE NO MEETINGS AND JUNE AND JULY WHEN THERE COULD BE DIFFERENT TIMINGS AND/OR LOCATIONS FOR VISITS.

LANGFORD & DISTRICT HISTORY SOCIETY

PROGRAMME 2019
TALKS AND VISITS

Visitors £3, Members £2, includes free tea or coffee. Raffle at each meeting.

All meetings held in Langford Church Hall at 8pm (except May) on the first Wednesday in the month as shown below.

Wednesday, 2 January 2019

NO MEETING

 

 

Wednesday, 6 February 2019

Annual General Meeting

 

Wednesday, 6 March 2019

The Sermon in Stone: the history of Caldecote church, Herts.
Grazyna Tutak

Caldecote Church Friends Press and Publicity officer tells the story of this local church.

Wednesday, 3 April 2019

Village Memories
Evening

 

Wednesday, 1 May 2019

The Stannards, Father and Daughter: Bedfordshire Artists
Richard Morgan

The author of last year’s BLHA book on the Stannards tells their story.
NB. This meeting will start at 7.30pm

Wednesday, 5 June 2019

To be advised, but probably Stotfold Mill

 

Wednesday, 3 July 2019

To be advised, but hopefully the British Schools Museum at Hitchin

 

Wednesday, 7 August 2019

NO MEETING

 

Wednesday, 4 September 2019

The women pilots of the Air Transport Auxiliary in World War 2
Ted Martin

160 mainly young women volunteered to ferry aircraft from factories to the front line in World War 2.

Wednesday, 2 October 2019

Another Icarus: The Rise and Fall of Percy Pilcher and the art of flight
Roy Smart

The first Englishman to die in the conquest of the air when nearly becoming the most famous name in aviation history.

Wednesday, 6 November 2019

Bedford’s Transport Heritage
David Fowler

A look at the history of transport in Bedford

Wednesday, 4 December 2019

Social Evening

TBA

 

GUEST VISITORS ARE WELCOME AT ALL MEETINGS ON PAYMENT OF A DONATION OF £4.00


COFFEE AND BISCUITS ARE AVAILABLE AND A RAFFLE IS HELD AT EACH MEETING

New members will be very welcome. Our Annual membership fee is £5 per person and there is a charge of £2 per meeting. Download our application form and send it by post, email Ted Martin, our secretary, or just come along and join us.

Last updated 12th December 2018